Chick and Duckling Killing: Achieving an EU-Wide Prohibition Program

Tuesday January 10, from 11am to 12:30pm | In person and online (hybrid)

This event will raise awareness on the practice of male chick and female duckling killing in the egg and foie gras industries and calls for an EU-wide prohibition of such a practice in the revision of EU farm animal welfare legislation.

11:00 – Introductory Remarks

Michal Wiesik, Niels Fuglsang and Sirpa Pietikäinen – Members of the European Parliament

11:10 – Presentation: The Systematic Killing of "Non-Productive" Day-Old Poultry Animals Olivier Morice, Public Affairs Officer, L214

11:20 – Panel 1: Alternatives to the Killing of Male Chicks and Female Ducklings

- In Ovo Sexing, a Primer Matthias Corion, PhD Researcher, University of Leuven, Department of Biosystems
- Investigations and Successful Corporate Outreach Campaigns Matteo Cupi, Vice President, Animal Equality EU
- Ending the Systematic Killing of Female Ducklings Antoaneta Yordanova, CAAI
 Q&A

11:50 - Panel 2: The Need and Opportunities for an EU-Wide Ban on the Systematic Killing of Young Poultry Animals

- Limitations of National Bans: Germany, France, and Austria as Case Studies Thomas Hecquet, Director, Animal Society
- The Legal Rationale for Prohibiting Maceration of Day-Old Animals in the Slaughter Regulation Alice Di Concetto, Chief Legal Adviser, The European Institute for Animal Law & Policy
- Our Ask: The Revision of EU Farm Animal Welfare Legislation, a Unique Opportunity to Achieve Change – Inês Ajuda, Program Leader Farm Animals, Eurogroup for Animals

Q&A

Moderation: Dr Joanna Swabe, Senior Director of Public Affairs, HSI Europe

12:30 - Concluding Remarks

Francisco Guerreiro and Anja Hazekamp – Members of the Parliament

12:40 - Cocktail

Participants to the conference are invited to an informal social moment over drinks and food to further exchange views.

This event is organized by L214 together with a coalition of animal advocacy organizations

This event is co-hosted by Members of the European Parliament **Niels Fuglsang** (S&D, Denmark), **Anja Hazekamp** (GUE/NL, Netherlands), **Francisco Guerreiro** (Greens/EFA, Portugal), **Sirpa Pietikäinen** (EPP, Finland), and **Michal Wiezik** (Renew, Slovakia).